Vegetable Jalfrezie

Jalfrezie is a method a cooking vegetables in a sauce. It’s generally made with mixed vegetables and has a sweet and sour flavour.

Ingredients

Carrot- 2
Cauliflower- 1 small
Beans- 15-20
Onions- 2
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Chopped ginger- 2 tsps
Chopped green chillies- 1 tsp
Red chilli powder- 1 tsp
Garam masala- 1/2 tsp
Salt to taste
Tomato ketchup- 2-3 tbsps

Method

Slice onions.
Wash and cut cauliflower into flowerets
Wash and cut carrots and beans into strips.

Heat oil in a pan.

Add chopped garlic and green chillies.Sauté for few seconds.
Add the onions and sauté till it turn pink. Add the rest of vegetables. Sauté for 2 mins. Add salt, turmeric powder and chilli powder and mix well. Close the pan and cook till the vegetables are just cooked and crisp.

Add the tomato ketchup, mix well and sauté for 2 more mins.

IMG_3544

Serve hot garnished with coriander leaves and ginger juliennes.

IMG_3545

Published by

Anuradha Balasubramanian

Cooking to me is not a chore. It's creativity. A very important job as it is important for the well being of everyone in the family. Kitchen is the place where my work begins every single morning. It gives me tremendous joy and satisfaction when I cook varieties of food and feed my family and friends. And it's always a pleasure to share your joy. Painting, music and books are my hobbies too. I enjoy using different colours, be it painting or cooking. It brightens my mood and spirit when I use different colours in cooking. I always take a moment to enjoy the colours every single time that I cook. Am a home maker with two teenagers. I have a very supportive family who are always game for all my experiments in the kitchen.

One thought on “Vegetable Jalfrezie”

Leave a comment