Penne and Paneer in Makhani Sauce

Today is the last working day for my daughter for this academic year. Her final exams are starting from friday. So, they are having a pot luck at school. She wanted me to make pasta as her class friends wanted me make pasta for them. I have made many varieties of pasta and it has always been a hit with her friends.

 
And today I wanted to try something new. As I was thinking, I got this idea of using makhani sauce since its a tomato based sauce. Just had to make few changes in the basic makhani sauce recipe to bring an Italian flavour. 
Adding paneer to the pasta makes it ideal for school tiffin as it has good complex carbohydrates and rich protein:) 
The colour, flavour and rich makhani sauce was certainly a delight to eyes and the taste buds. My family loved it. Hope you all would like it too:)



Ingredients 
Penne Pasta – 4 cups
Paneer- 200 gms ( 1 readymade packet)
Onion- 1
Capsicum-1 
Garlic- 4-5 cloves
Ginger- 1 inch 
Red chilli powder- 1 tsp
Garam masala- 1/2 tsp
Fresh Cream- 2 tbsps 
Olive oil- 2 tbsps
Butter- 1 tbsp
 Salt to taste
Tomato ketchup- 1 tbsp
Dry basil- 1 tsp 
Parmesan cheese powder- 2 tbsps
Tomatoes- 6
Cloves- 4
Cashew nuts- 2 tsps 
Method 
Cook the pasta in lots of water ( add I tsp of salt to the water) until it’s just cooked. Drain and wash the pasta to stop further cooking. 
Reserve 1 cup of the drained water.
Blanch the tomatoes ( cook the tomatoes in boiling water for few mins until the skin starts  breaking). 
Drain the tomatoes. Cool and peel the skin.
Grind the tomatoes along with cloves and cashew nuts to a puree.




Wash, peel and chop onions, garlic and ginger finely.
Wash and chop capsicum finely.
Cut paneer into cubes.
Heat 2 tbsps of olive oil in a pan.
When the oil becomes hot, add chopped garlic and ginger. Sauté till it turns slightly golden and then add chopped onions.
Sauté till the onions turn pink. Now add the chopped capsicum. Sauté till the capsicums are just cooked.

Now add the tomato purée, 1 cup of reserved water, red chilli powder, garam masala powder, tomato ketchup, butter, dry basil leaves and salt to taste. Mix well and let it simmer.

When it starts simmering, add the paneer cubes and let it cook in medium flame for 10 mins.

Add the cooked pasta, parmesan cheese powder and cream and mix well.
Let it cook on a low flame for 5 mins.

Serve hot garnished with little parmesan cheese powder, basil leaves and a dash of garam masala:)




Published by

Anuradha Balasubramanian

Cooking to me is not a chore. It's creativity. A very important job as it is important for the well being of everyone in the family. Kitchen is the place where my work begins every single morning. It gives me tremendous joy and satisfaction when I cook varieties of food and feed my family and friends. And it's always a pleasure to share your joy. Painting, music and books are my hobbies too. I enjoy using different colours, be it painting or cooking. It brightens my mood and spirit when I use different colours in cooking. I always take a moment to enjoy the colours every single time that I cook. Am a home maker with two teenagers. I have a very supportive family who are always game for all my experiments in the kitchen.

Leave a comment