Kathrikai Rasavangi

Brinjal is known as Kathrikai in Tamil and baingan in Hindi.

Kathrikai Rasavangi is a spicy, tamarind based delicious gravy which is served with steamed rice.

Long time back,my maternal uncle, who had come home for a visit asked me,’do you know to make Kathrikai Rasavangi?’
Though I have heard about it, never had tried in my kitchen. My uncle described about it in such a way that it sounded like a very exotic dish and I honestly felt that it must certainly be a traditional delicacy.
To my surprise, when I checked out the recipe, I found that it was just a variation of the usual araichuvitta sambar ( sambar made with freshly roasted and ground spices) that
we make at home. But have to say, it certainly is a delicious variation.

IMG_0085-0

Ingredients

Brinjal( violet or green) – 6 medium size
Tuvar dal( pigeon peas)- 3/4th cup
Turmeric powder-1/2 tsp
Tamarind – lemon sized
Grated Jaggery- 2 tsps

To roast
Coriander seeds- 2 tbsps
Urad dal – 1 tbsp
Chana dal ( chick peas)- 1 tbsp
Red chillies- 8-9

Coconut- 1/2 cup
Oil- 2 tbsps
Mustard- 1 tsp
Urad dal- 1 tsp
Curry leaves- few
Hing- 1/8th tsp

Method

Wash and cut brinjals and keep it immersed in water.

Soak tamarind in a cup of water for half an hour. Squeeze and take the tamarind extract.

Wash and soak tuvar dal for half an hour. Drain add 1 cup of water and pressure for 3-4 whistles. Mash the cooked dal gently and keep it aside.

In little oil, roast coriander seeds, urad dal, chana dal and red chillies till the dal becomes slightly golden.

IMG_0081

Cool and grind along with coconut to a paste.

Heat 4 tsps of oil in a pan. Add the brinjal and turmeric powder, mix well and sauté it for few mins.

IMG_0079

Add tamarind extract, salt to taste, one cup of water and jaggery. Let it cook till the brinjal becomes tender.

IMG_0082

Add the mashed dal and ground paste to the the brinjal and mix well. Add 1 more cup of water and mix again. Check the seasonings.
Simmer the gravy in a medium flame for 10 mins.

IMG_0084

Heat a tsp of oil in a pan. Add mustard. When it starts spluttering, add urad dal,curry leaves and hing. Pour the tempering over the gravy and serve hot with steamed rice drizzled with little melted ghee:)

IMG_0086

IMG_0087

Published by

Anuradha Balasubramanian

Cooking to me is not a chore. It's creativity. A very important job as it is important for the well being of everyone in the family. Kitchen is the place where my work begins every single morning. It gives me tremendous joy and satisfaction when I cook varieties of food and feed my family and friends. And it's always a pleasure to share your joy. Painting, music and books are my hobbies too. I enjoy using different colours, be it painting or cooking. It brightens my mood and spirit when I use different colours in cooking. I always take a moment to enjoy the colours every single time that I cook. Am a home maker with two teenagers. I have a very supportive family who are always game for all my experiments in the kitchen.

Leave a comment