Masala Pori

Puffed rice is called as Pori  in Tamil and murmure in Hindi. It is  commonly used as in breakfast cereal or snack foods, and served as a popular street food in India. It is usually made by heating rice kernels under high pressure in the presence of steam,though the method of manufacture varies widely.

Being low in calories and fat, Pori is s very ideal snack. It can be used in various recipes.

Today I have made a very famous Indian street snack, Masala Pori. It’s healthy, tasty and very easy to make:)

  

Ingredients

Puffed Rice- 200 gms

Roasted peanuts- 2 cups

Peeled garlic- 1/4th cup

Curry leaves- 1/2 cup

Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp

Red chilli powder- 3/4th tsp

Salt to taste

Sesame oil- 2 tbsps

Mustard- 1 tsp

Hing( asafoetida)-  1/4th tsp

Method 

Heat oil in a pan. Add mustard. When it starts spluttering, add garlic and curry leaves. Sauté till the curry leaves becomes crisp and garlic turns golden.

  

Add the roasted peanuts, turmeric powder, red chilli powder, hing and salt to taste.

  

Sauté for few mins and then add the Pori.

Mix well and sauté on a medium flame till it turns crisp. Cool and store it in a air tight container 🙂

   

   

Published by

Anuradha Balasubramanian

Cooking to me is not a chore. It's creativity. A very important job as it is important for the well being of everyone in the family. Kitchen is the place where my work begins every single morning. It gives me tremendous joy and satisfaction when I cook varieties of food and feed my family and friends. And it's always a pleasure to share your joy. Painting, music and books are my hobbies too. I enjoy using different colours, be it painting or cooking. It brightens my mood and spirit when I use different colours in cooking. I always take a moment to enjoy the colours every single time that I cook. Am a home maker with two teenagers. I have a very supportive family who are always game for all my experiments in the kitchen.

Leave a comment